Vehicles › Silverado 1500 & Sierra 1500

AFM/DFM disablers for the Silverado 1500 & Sierra 1500 2007–2013

Any classic plug-in disabler is built for this. Pick on battery draw, switch and reviews.

Short answer

For most Silverado & Sierra2007–2013 owners: Range Technology RA003B AFM/DFM Disabler, or BOOST AFM & DFM Disabler on a budget: Max Cylinder AFM/DFM Disabler. Check your engine and transmission in the table first.

Engines, years and what they have

EngineGM codeYearsTransmissionSystem
5.3L V8LY5 · LMG · LC9 · LH62007–20136- or 8-speedAFM
6.0L V8 HybridLZ12009–20136- or 8-speedAFM
4.8L V8LY2 · L202007–2013—None
6.0L V8 (non-hybrid) (to confirm)LY6 · L962007–2013—None
6.2L V8 (to confirm)L9H2009–2013—None
4.3L V6LU32007–2013—None
  • AFM on these trucks switches between V8 and V4 (cylinders 1, 7, 6 and 4 go quiet).
  • The 2007 "Classic" is the carry-over older body: no AFM, nothing to disable.
  • 5.3L V8: Most 5.3L trucks of this body have AFM. The 2007 "Classic" (old body) does not.

Disablers sold for this generation

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Which disabler we recommend never depends on it. How we make money

2005–2020 · not 10-speed

BOOST AFM & DFM Disabler

4.6★ (1.2K ratings) · 1K+ bought last month

0.71 mA engine off No switch Start/stop stays

Our favorite classic disabler on paper: well rated, low stated draw, clear fitment list.

About $149
on Oct 27, 2026
Check on Amazon →
2007–2022.0 · not 10-speed

Max Cylinder AFM/DFM Disabler

4.6★ (682 ratings) · 900+ bought last month

Draw not stated No switch Kills start/stop

Worth a look if you want start/stop gone on a pre-2022 truck, but the reviews are mixed.

About $180
on Oct 27, 2026
Check on Amazon →
2007–2021 · not 10-speed

ROPODE AFM/DFM Disabler

4.3★ (2.9K ratings) · 4K+ bought last month

Draw not stated No switch Start/stop stays

The volume pick. Fine for a pre-2019 truck if you accept clone-level quality control.

About $68
on Oct 27, 2026
Check on Amazon →
2007–2021 · 10-speed disputed

OBDCAR AFM/DFM Disabler

4.3★ (2.5K ratings) · 1K+ bought last month

Draw not stated No switch Start/stop stays

Popular, but its listing says the least about what it fits.

About $67
on Oct 27, 2026
Check on Amazon →

32 disablers in total are sold for at least one engine of this generation. See them all in the comparison table, or add your vehicle for an exact answer.

Limits & caveats

  • California: none of the disablers listed for this vehicle has a CARB Executive Order, so they are not legal on California-registered vehicles. States with OBD-based inspections may also flag a vehicle while one is plugged in.
  • Plug-in disablers draw a little current with the engine off. If the vehicle will sit for a week or more, unplug it or use a model with a switch.

Where it plugs in

Under the dash, left of the steering column, above the driver's knee. Plug the disabler in with the engine off, then start the vehicle: most units show a light once they're talking to the engine computer.

Questions owners ask

Does the Silverado & Sierra 2007–2013 have AFM or DFM?

5.3L V8 (LY5 · LMG · LC9 · LH6, 2007–2013): AFM. 6.0L V8 Hybrid (LZ1, 2009–2013): AFM. 4.8L V8: none. 6.0L V8 (non-hybrid): none. 6.2L V8: none. 4.3L V6: none.

Where is the OBD-II port?

Under the dash, left of the steering column, above the driver's knee.

Do I need the expensive Range unit?

Not for compatibility: classic clones are sold for the same vehicles. You pay for the brand, support and, according to some owners, fewer false warning lights.

Sources: GM service bulletin 20-NA-038 (engines with AFM/DFM hardware), manufacturer fitment pages (Range Technology, BOOST), Amazon listings and owner reviews, owner forums. Checked October 27, 2026. How we review.