Vehicles › Silverado 1500 & Sierra 1500

AFM/DFM disablers for the Silverado 1500 & Sierra 1500 2022.5–2026

Cheap classic disablers won't work. Only modules built for Global B (Range RA007, BOOST DFM and a few others) are sold for it.

Short answer

For most Silverado & Sierra2022.5–2026 owners: Range Technology RA007 DFM Disabler, or BOOST DFM Disabler (Global B) on a budget: CheerCode AFM DFM Disabler (V6/V8). Check your engine and transmission in the table first.

Engines, years and what they have

EngineGM codeYearsTransmissionSystem
5.3L V8L842022.5–20268/10-speedDFM
6.2L V8L872022.5–20268/10-speedDFM
2.7L TurboMax 4-cylL3B2022.5–2026—None
3.0L Duramax dieselLZ02022.5–2026—None
  • The 2022 refresh (new interior, big screen) moved to GM's "Global B" electronics with a secured gateway. Old-style disablers don't work: you need a module built for it.
  • How to tell a 2022 refresh: the 12th character of the VIN is 5 or higher.
  • The L87 6.2L engine recall (25V-274, about 600,000 vehicles) is about crankshaft and connecting-rod bearings, not lifters. A disabler has nothing to do with it.

Disablers sold for this generation

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Which disabler we recommend never depends on it. How we make money

2022.5+ trucks · 2021+ SUVs

Range Technology RA007 DFM Disabler

4.4★ (364 ratings) · 1K+ bought last month

Draw not stated No switch Kills start/stop

The reference module for 2022.5+ trucks and 2021+ SUVs: the only one with a CARB exemption (2021–2024 models), and it also turns off auto start/stop.

About $231
on Oct 27, 2026
Check on Amazon →
2022.5–2026 trucks · 2021–2024 SUVs

BOOST DFM Disabler (Global B)

4.1★ (299 ratings) · 800+ bought last month

0.1 mA engine off No switch Start/stop stays

The lower-cost Global B option with the smallest battery draw, if you can live with auto start/stop.

About $149
on Oct 27, 2026
Check on Amazon →
2007–2022.0 · 10-speed disputed

CheerCode AFM DFM Disabler (V6/V8)

New listing · 500+ bought last month

Draw not stated No switch Start/stop stays

New and priced like a premium unit with a generic's fitment claims: we'd wait.

About $120
on Oct 27, 2026
Check on Amazon →

4 disablers in total are sold for at least one engine of this generation. See them all in the comparison table, or add your vehicle for an exact answer.

Limits & caveats

  • Unplug the module before any GM over-the-air update or dealer software update.
  • California: the Range RA007 has a CARB Executive Order (D-115-32) for 2021–2024 models, so it is 50-state legal on this vehicle. The other disablers listed have none and are not legal on California-registered vehicles.
  • Plug-in disablers draw a little current with the engine off. If the vehicle will sit for a week or more, unplug it or use a model with a switch.
  • Some 2024–2026 owners report that cylinder deactivation still kicks in with a module plugged in. Keep the receipt and test it in the return window.
  • California: none of the disablers listed for this vehicle has a CARB Executive Order, so they are not legal on California-registered vehicles. States with OBD-based inspections may also flag a vehicle while one is plugged in.

Where it plugs in

Not every Global B module goes in the same place. The Range RA007 connects inline at the engine computer under the hood (two factory connectors), not at the OBD-II port; follow the maker's instructions. Other modules use the OBD-II port: under the dash, left of the steering column, above the driver's knee.

Questions owners ask

Does the Silverado & Sierra 2022.5–2026 have AFM or DFM?

5.3L V8 (L84, 2022.5–2026): DFM. 6.2L V8 (L87, 2022.5–2026): DFM. 2.7L TurboMax 4-cyl: none. 3.0L Duramax diesel: none.

Where is the OBD-II port?

Under the dash, left of the steering column, above the driver's knee.

Will a cheap $40–70 disabler work?

No. Those are built for the older electronics. Since the switch to Global B, only dedicated modules such as the Range RA007 and BOOST DFM are sold for these vehicles.

Sources: GM service bulletin 20-NA-038 (engines with AFM/DFM hardware), manufacturer fitment pages (Range Technology, BOOST), Amazon listings and owner reviews, owner forums. Checked October 27, 2026. How we review.