All disablers › Chatbrid / Pooperws

2007–2021 · not 10-speed

"American Design" AFM/DFM DOD Disabler

Our take

A budget clone sold under two names: check you buy the cheaper listing.

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Which disabler we recommend never depends on it. How we make money

What it's sold for

The same device sold under two brand names. Listings claim most GM V6/V8 from 2007 to 2024 but exclude the 10-speed and 2022+ refresh models in the text.

Vehicle generationOur read
Silverado 1500 & Sierra 1500 2007–2013Listing claims it
Silverado 1500 & Sierra 1500 2014–2018Listing claims it
Silverado 1500 & Sierra 1500 2019–2022.0Listing claims it · varies by engine or year
Silverado 1500 & Sierra 1500 2022.5–2026Not for this vehicle
Tahoe, Suburban & Yukon 2007–2014Listing claims it
Tahoe, Suburban & Yukon 2015–2020Listing claims it · varies by engine or year
Tahoe, Suburban & Yukon 2021–2024Not for this vehicle
Tahoe, Suburban & Yukon 2025–2026Not for this vehicle
Cadillac Escalade, ESV & EXT 2007–2014Listing claims it
Cadillac Escalade & Escalade ESV 2015–2020Listing claims it · varies by engine or year
Cadillac Escalade & Escalade ESV 2021–2026Not for this vehicle
Chevrolet Avalanche 2007–2013Listing claims it
Colorado & Canyon V8 2009–2012Listing claims it
Chevrolet Camaro SS 2010–2015Listing claims it
Chevrolet Camaro SS & ZL1 2016–2024Listing claims it · varies by engine or year
Chevrolet Corvette C7 2014–2019Listing claims it
Chevrolet Corvette C8 2020–2026Not for this vehicle
Impala SS, Monte Carlo SS, Grand Prix GXP & LaCrosse Super 2005–2009Listing claims it · varies by engine or year
Pontiac G8 GT & Chevrolet Caprice PPV 2008–2017Listing claims it
Trailblazer & Envoy 5.3L 2005–2009Listing claims it · varies by engine or year

"Maker lists it" = the manufacturer names the vehicle; "Listing claims it" = only the Amazon listing's generic claim; "Sources disagree" = conflicting claims or owner reports. Use the fit finder for your exact engine and year.

Specs that matter

Engine-off drawNot stated
On/off switchNo: unplug it to turn it off
Auto start/stopNot affected (stays on)
Where it plugs inOBD-II port under the dash
California (CARB)No Executive Order found: not legal in California
Spare OBD portNo: it occupies the OBD-II port
V6 4.3LClaimed
Amazon rating4.3 out of 5 (347 ratings)
Sales1K+ bought in the past month (Amazon badge, Oct 28, 2026)
PriceAbout $40 on Oct 28, 2026. Check Amazon for today's price.

What owners report

Our summary of recent owner reviews (we read the critical ones first). We don't test units ourselves.

Likes

  • One of the cheapest big sellers
  • Plug and play

Who it's for

Best suited to owners of 2007–2021 GM trucks and SUVs with AFM, and pre-2022 DFM trucks with a 6- or 8-speed.

Not for

  • 2022.5–2026 trucks and 2021+ SUVs (Global B): it won't work
  • 10-speed automatics (2019–2022.0 L87/L84, 2018–2020 6.2L SUVs)
  • Corvette C8 and heavy-duty 2500/3500 trucks
  • California-registered vehicles

Limits & caveats

  • It reduces how often cylinders switch off. No study shows it prevents lifter failure. What fails and why
  • if the vehicle will sit a week or more, unplug it.
  • Expect 0 to 3 mpg less, mostly on the highway.
  • No CARB Executive Order: not legal on California-registered vehicles. OBD-based inspections elsewhere may also flag it.

Alternatives

2007–2021 · not 10-speed

ROPODE AFM/DFM Disabler

4.3★ (2.9K ratings) · 4K+ bought last month

Draw not stated No switch Start/stop stays

The volume pick. Fine for a pre-2019 truck if you accept clone-level quality control.

About $66
on Oct 28, 2026
Check on Amazon →
2007–2021 · 10-speed disputed

OBDCAR AFM/DFM Disabler

4.3★ (2.5K ratings) · 1K+ bought last month

Draw not stated No switch Start/stop stays

Popular, but its listing says the least about what it fits.

About $67
on Oct 28, 2026
Check on Amazon →
2007–2021 · 10-speed disputed

OBDDFM AFM/DFM Disabler

4.4★ (1.1K ratings) · 1K+ bought last month

Draw not stated No switch Start/stop stays

One of the cheapest 1K+ sellers, on the market since 2023, but its listing says little about what it fits.

About $39
on Oct 28, 2026
Check on Amazon →
2022.5+ trucks · 2021+ SUVs

Range Technology RA007 DFM Disabler

4.4★ (364 ratings) · 1K+ bought last month

Draw not stated No switch Kills start/stop

The reference module for 2022.5+ trucks and 2021+ SUVs: the only one with a CARB exemption (2021–2024 models), and it also turns off auto start/stop.

About $233
on Oct 28, 2026
Check on Amazon →