2007–2022.0 GM trucks, SUVs & cars

Best AFM Disabler (2026): 6 Picks for 2007–2022.0 GM Trucks & SUVs

Short answer

The best AFM disabler for most 2005–2020 GM trucks and SUVs is the BOOST AFM & DFM (best rated, 0.71 mA stated draw). Pick the Range RA003B for the best-known brand, a 2021–2022.0 truck or a 10-speed, and the ROPODE on a budget.

  1. Best overall: BOOST AFM & DFM Disabler
  2. Most proven brand: Range Technology RA003B
  3. Best budget: ROPODE AFM/DFM Disabler
  4. Best with an on/off switch: mataunion
  5. Budget pick with a claimed sleep mode: Genapendex
  6. Also turns off auto start/stop: Max Cylinder

These fit 2007–2022.0 only

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Which disabler we recommend never depends on it. How we make money

Best overall: BOOST AFM & DFM Disabler

The best-rated of the big sellers (4.6 stars on about 1,200 ratings), one of only two disablers that publish an engine-off draw (0.71 mA), made in the USA, and a clear fitment list (GM V6 and V8 from 2005 to 2020 according to its reseller list).

Watch out: Not for the 10-speed, the Corvette C8 or 2022 refresh trucks. It sticks out of the port, and a few owners felt the engine held a higher gear.

2005–2020 · not 10-speed

BOOST AFM & DFM Disabler

4.6★ (1.2K ratings) · 1K+ bought last month

0.71 mA engine off No switch Start/stop stays

Our favorite classic disabler on paper: well rated, low stated draw, clear fitment list.

About $149
on Oct 27, 2026
Check on Amazon →

Most proven brand: Range Technology RA003B

The disabler most owners have heard of, sold about 3,000 times a month on Amazon. Range (owned by Holley) lists 2007–2022.0 trucks including 10-speed models, 2007–2020 Tahoe, Yukon and Escalade, 2010–2024 Camaro V8 and the Corvette C7, and it also turns off auto start/stop.

Watch out: About three times the price of a clone. Some 10-speed owners report clunky downshifts, and a few say the status light drops out until a restart.

Best budget: ROPODE AFM/DFM Disabler

The best-selling disabler on Amazon (4,000+ a month) at around $68. The same "American Design" device is sold for about $40 under two other brand names.

Watch out: Clone-level quality control: a few owners saw random dash warnings until they unplugged it, and some units quit after about six months. Not for the 10-speed or 2022 refresh models.

2007–2021 · not 10-speed

ROPODE AFM/DFM Disabler

4.3★ (2.9K ratings) · 4K+ bought last month

Draw not stated No switch Start/stop stays

The volume pick. Fine for a pre-2019 truck if you accept clone-level quality control.

About $68
on Oct 27, 2026
Check on Amazon →

Best with an on/off switch: mataunion

A switch means you don't have to unplug the disabler when the truck will sit. mataunion is the best seller with one (500+ a month, about $50). The Torqy ($120) adds a very flat 0.8-inch body.

Watch out: New listing with few ratings so far. No published standby current.

2007–2021 · not 10-speed

mataunion AFM/DFM Disabler

4.8★ (46 ratings) · 500+ bought last month

Draw not stated On/off switch Start/stop stays

A budget clone with an on/off switch, so you don't have to unplug it.

About $50
on Oct 27, 2026
Check on Amazon →

Budget pick with a claimed sleep mode: Genapendex

The lowest stated draw among classic disablers is the BOOST above (0.71 mA). If you want something cheaper that at least claims to go to sleep when parked, Genapendex does, without publishing a number, at about $55.

Watch out: A claimed sleep mode is not a measurement. If the truck sits a week or more, unplug any disabler.

2007–2021 · not 10-speed

Genapendex AFM/DFM Disabler

4.4★ (1K ratings) · 500+ bought last month

Draw not stated No switch Start/stop stays

A budget pick that at least claims a sleep mode for long parking.

About $55
on Oct 27, 2026
Check on Amazon →

Also turns off auto start/stop: Max Cylinder

One plug for both annoyances, with a lifetime warranty from Dezine Group. The Range RA003B also turns start/stop off.

Watch out: Reviews are mixed: rough shifting or idle surge on some trucks and a 3–4 mpg drop mentioned more than once. Start/stop stays on eAssist trucks.

2007–2022.0 · not 10-speed

Max Cylinder AFM/DFM Disabler

4.6★ (682 ratings) · 900+ bought last month

Draw not stated No switch Kills start/stop

Worth a look if you want start/stop gone on a pre-2022 truck, but the reviews are mixed.

About $180
on Oct 27, 2026
Check on Amazon →

Notable mentions

35 disablers sell at least 100 units a month; compare them all.

How we pick (no hands-on testing)

We don't install or bench-test disablers. We list every plug-in model selling 100+ a month on Amazon, check each against makers' fitment lists and GM's engine data, read recent owner reviews (critical ones first) and weigh fitment clarity, stated battery draw, features and recurring complaints. Our method.

California

None of these classic disablers has a CARB Executive Order. Range states the RA003B is not legal for sale or use in California (EO pending), and BOOST says the same of its models.

What changed this month

  • Oct 27, 2026: first edition. 35 disablers tracked. Range confirmed 10-speed coverage and start/stop shut-off for the RA003B on its own site.

Summary table

DisablerSold for10-speedEngine-off drawSwitchStart/stopPrice (Oct 27, 2026)
BOOST AFM & DFM Disabler2005–2020 · not 10-speedNo0.71 mANoStays on$149
Range Technology RA003B AFM/DFM Disabler2007–2022.0ListedNot statedNoOff$215
ROPODE AFM/DFM Disabler2007–2021 · not 10-speedNoNot statedNoStays on$68
mataunion AFM/DFM Disabler2007–2021 · not 10-speedNoNot statedYesStays on$50
Genapendex AFM/DFM Disabler2007–2021 · not 10-speedNoSleep mode claimedNoStays on$55
Max Cylinder AFM/DFM Disabler2007–2022.0 · not 10-speedNoNot statedNoOff$180
Torqy AFM/DFM Disabler2007–2021 · not 10-speedNoSleep mode claimedYesStays on$120

Sales: Amazon "bought in past month" badges (BOOST 1K+, Range Technology 3K+, ROPODE 4K+, mataunion 500+, Genapendex 500+, Max Cylinder 900+), read Oct 27, 2026. Prices change daily.

Questions owners ask

Do AFM disablers work on the 10-speed?

Most don't claim it. Range lists its RA003B for 2007–2022.0 trucks including 10-speed models; BOOST and most clones exclude them. A few owners report clunky downshifts on 10-speed trucks even with a listed unit.

Is the Range worth three times the price of a clone?

For most 6- or 8-speed trucks, clones are sold for the same vehicles. The exception is the 10-speed, which Range lists and most clones exclude. Otherwise you pay for the brand, the support and, according to owners who tried both, fewer false warning lights.

Will a disabler drain my battery?

Every plug-in disabler draws a little current with the engine off. BOOST states 0.71 mA for this model. If the truck will sit a week or more, unplug it or use a model with a switch.

Will any of these work on my 2023 Silverado?

No. 2022.5+ trucks and 2021+ SUVs need a Global B module such as the Range RA007 or BOOST DFM.

Sources