All disablers › Range Technology

2007–2022.0

Range Technology RA003B AFM/DFM Disabler

Our take

The best-known classic disabler. You pay about three times a clone for the brand and the support.

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Which disabler we recommend never depends on it. How we make money

What it's sold for

Range lists 2007–2022.0 GM trucks "including 10-speed models", 2007–2020 Tahoe, Yukon and Escalade, 2010–2024 Camaro V8 and 2014–2019 Corvette C7. Not 2022.5+ refresh trucks or 2021+ SUVs. It plugs into the OBD-II port and also turns off auto start/stop. Range says it is not legal for sale or use in California (CARB testing pending).

Vehicle generationOur read
Silverado 1500 & Sierra 1500 2007–2013Maker lists it
Silverado 1500 & Sierra 1500 2014–2018Maker lists it
Silverado 1500 & Sierra 1500 2019–2022.0Maker lists it
Silverado 1500 & Sierra 1500 2022.5–2026Not for this vehicle
Tahoe, Suburban & Yukon 2007–2014Maker lists it
Tahoe, Suburban & Yukon 2015–2020Maker lists it
Tahoe, Suburban & Yukon 2021–2024Not for this vehicle
Tahoe, Suburban & Yukon 2025–2026Not for this vehicle
Cadillac Escalade, ESV & EXT 2007–2014Maker lists it
Cadillac Escalade & Escalade ESV 2015–2020Maker lists it
Cadillac Escalade & Escalade ESV 2021–2026Not for this vehicle
Chevrolet Avalanche 2007–2013Maker lists it
Colorado & Canyon V8 2009–2012Maker lists it
Chevrolet Camaro SS 2010–2015Maker lists it
Chevrolet Camaro SS & ZL1 2016–2024Maker lists it · varies by engine or year
Chevrolet Corvette C7 2014–2019Maker lists it
Chevrolet Corvette C8 2020–2026Not for this vehicle
Impala SS, Monte Carlo SS, Grand Prix GXP & LaCrosse Super 2005–2009Maker lists it · varies by engine or year
Pontiac G8 GT & Chevrolet Caprice PPV 2008–2017Maker lists it
Trailblazer & Envoy 5.3L 2005–2009Maker lists it · varies by engine or year

"Maker lists it" = the manufacturer names the vehicle; "Listing claims it" = only the Amazon listing's generic claim; "Sources disagree" = conflicting claims or owner reports. Use the fit finder for your exact engine and year.

Specs that matter

Engine-off drawNot stated
On/off switchNo: unplug it to turn it off
Auto start/stopAlso turned off
Where it plugs inOBD-II port under the dash
California (CARB)No Executive Order found: not legal in California
Spare OBD portNo: it occupies the OBD-II port
V6 4.3LClaimed
CompanyHolley
Made inUSA (maker's claim)
Amazon rating4.4 out of 5 (2.5K ratings)
Sales3K+ bought in the past month (Amazon badge, Oct 27, 2026)
PriceAbout $215 on Oct 27, 2026. Check Amazon for today's price.

What owners report

Our summary of recent owner reviews (we read the critical ones first). We don't test units ourselves.

Likes

  • Stays in V8, no more gear hunting on hills and highways
  • Owners who tried a cheap clone first report fewer false warning lights
  • Sold under the Holley group: the "safe" name

Complaints

  • Clunky downshifts on a few 10-speed and 2018 trucks
  • The status light sometimes goes out, and a few owners must restart to re-engage it
  • Range recommends unplugging it if the vehicle sits for more than a few days
  • Out-of-warranty support means shipping it back at your cost

Who it's for

Best suited to owners of 2007–2021 GM trucks and SUVs with AFM, and pre-2022 DFM trucks with a 6- or 8-speed.

Not for

  • 2022.5–2026 trucks and 2021+ SUVs (Global B): it won't work
  • Corvette C8 and heavy-duty 2500/3500 trucks
  • California-registered vehicles

Limits & caveats

  • It reduces how often cylinders switch off. No study shows it prevents lifter failure. What fails and why
  • if the vehicle will sit a week or more, unplug it.
  • Expect 0 to 3 mpg less, mostly on the highway.
  • No CARB Executive Order: not legal on California-registered vehicles. OBD-based inspections elsewhere may also flag it.

Alternatives

2005–2020 · not 10-speed

BOOST AFM & DFM Disabler

4.6★ (1.2K ratings) · 1K+ bought last month

0.71 mA engine off No switch Start/stop stays

Our favorite classic disabler on paper: well rated, low stated draw, clear fitment list.

About $149
on Oct 27, 2026
Check on Amazon →
2007–2022.0 · not 10-speed

Max Cylinder AFM/DFM Disabler

4.6★ (682 ratings) · 900+ bought last month

Draw not stated No switch Kills start/stop

Worth a look if you want start/stop gone on a pre-2022 truck, but the reviews are mixed.

About $180
on Oct 27, 2026
Check on Amazon →
2022.5+ trucks · 2021+ SUVs

Range Technology RA007 DFM Disabler

4.4★ (364 ratings) · 1K+ bought last month

Draw not stated No switch Kills start/stop

The reference module for 2022.5+ trucks and 2021+ SUVs: the only one with a CARB exemption (2021–2024 models), and it also turns off auto start/stop.

About $231
on Oct 27, 2026
Check on Amazon →