All disablers › BOOST

2005–2020 · not 10-speed

BOOST AFM & DFM Disabler

Our take

Our favorite classic disabler on paper: well rated, low stated draw, clear fitment list.

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Which disabler we recommend never depends on it. How we make money

What it's sold for

BOOST's reseller fitment list covers GM V6 and V8 trucks, SUVs and cars with AFM/DFM from 2005 to 2020. The Amazon listing excludes the 10-speed, the Corvette C8 and 2022+ refresh trucks, and says it does not fit 2023 or 2024 models.

Vehicle generationOur read
Silverado 1500 & Sierra 1500 2007–2013Maker lists it
Silverado 1500 & Sierra 1500 2014–2018Maker lists it
Silverado 1500 & Sierra 1500 2019–2022.0Not for this vehicle · varies by engine or year
Silverado 1500 & Sierra 1500 2022.5–2026Not for this vehicle
Tahoe, Suburban & Yukon 2007–2014Maker lists it
Tahoe, Suburban & Yukon 2015–2020Maker lists it · varies by engine or year
Tahoe, Suburban & Yukon 2021–2024Not for this vehicle
Tahoe, Suburban & Yukon 2025–2026Not for this vehicle
Cadillac Escalade, ESV & EXT 2007–2014Maker lists it
Cadillac Escalade & Escalade ESV 2015–2020Maker lists it · varies by engine or year
Cadillac Escalade & Escalade ESV 2021–2026Not for this vehicle
Chevrolet Avalanche 2007–2013Maker lists it
Colorado & Canyon V8 2009–2012Maker lists it
Chevrolet Camaro SS 2010–2015Maker lists it
Chevrolet Camaro SS & ZL1 2016–2024Not for this vehicle · varies by engine or year
Chevrolet Corvette C7 2014–2019Maker lists it
Chevrolet Corvette C8 2020–2026Not for this vehicle
Impala SS, Monte Carlo SS, Grand Prix GXP & LaCrosse Super 2005–2009Maker lists it
Pontiac G8 GT & Chevrolet Caprice PPV 2008–2017Maker lists it
Trailblazer & Envoy 5.3L 2005–2009Maker lists it

"Maker lists it" = the manufacturer names the vehicle; "Listing claims it" = only the Amazon listing's generic claim; "Sources disagree" = conflicting claims or owner reports. Use the fit finder for your exact engine and year.

Specs that matter

Engine-off draw0.71 mA (maker's figure)
On/off switchNo: unplug it to turn it off
Auto start/stopNot affected (stays on)
Where it plugs inOBD-II port under the dash
California (CARB)No Executive Order found: not legal in California
Spare OBD portNo: it occupies the OBD-II port
V6 4.3LClaimed
Made inUSA (maker's claim)
Amazon rating4.6 out of 5 (1.2K ratings)
Sales1K+ bought in the past month (Amazon badge, Oct 27, 2026)
PriceAbout $149 on Oct 27, 2026. Check Amazon for today's price.

What owners report

Our summary of recent owner reviews (we read the critical ones first). We don't test units ourselves.

Likes

  • Highest rating among the big sellers
  • Stated 0.71 mA with the engine off
  • Made in the USA

Complaints

  • Sticks out of the port: some drivers hit it with a knee
  • One owner's battery was flat after a night
  • A few owners felt the engine was less responsive or held a higher gear

Who it's for

Best suited to owners of 2007–2021 GM trucks and SUVs with AFM, and pre-2022 DFM trucks with a 6- or 8-speed.

Not for

  • 2022.5–2026 trucks and 2021+ SUVs (Global B): it won't work
  • 10-speed automatics (2019–2022.0 L87/L84, 2018–2020 6.2L SUVs)
  • Corvette C8 and heavy-duty 2500/3500 trucks
  • California-registered vehicles

Limits & caveats

  • It reduces how often cylinders switch off. No study shows it prevents lifter failure. What fails and why
  • The maker states 0.71 mA with the engine off; if the vehicle will sit a week or more, unplug it.
  • Expect 0 to 3 mpg less, mostly on the highway.
  • No CARB Executive Order: not legal on California-registered vehicles. OBD-based inspections elsewhere may also flag it.

Alternatives

2007–2022.0 · not 10-speed

Max Cylinder AFM/DFM Disabler

4.6★ (682 ratings) · 900+ bought last month

Draw not stated No switch Kills start/stop

Worth a look if you want start/stop gone on a pre-2022 truck, but the reviews are mixed.

About $180
on Oct 27, 2026
Check on Amazon →
2022.5+ trucks · 2021+ SUVs

Range Technology RA007 DFM Disabler

4.4★ (364 ratings) · 1K+ bought last month

Draw not stated No switch Kills start/stop

The reference module for 2022.5+ trucks and 2021+ SUVs: the only one with a CARB exemption (2021–2024 models), and it also turns off auto start/stop.

About $231
on Oct 27, 2026
Check on Amazon →