All disablers › Carbyte

2005–2025 · classic and Global B

Carbyte AFM/DFM Disabler & Start/Stop Eliminator

Our take

The one plug-in that claims every generation, from 2005 to the 2025 trucks. Check the 40 mph rule and the 2024+ reports before you buy.

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Which disabler we recommend never depends on it. How we make money

What it's sold for

Carbyte lists 2005–2024 and select 2025 GM trucks, SUVs and cars, including the 10-speed, 2022–2025 trucks and 2022–2024 SUVs: the only plug-in we track sold for both classic and Global B vehicles. It also turns off auto start/stop, and an optional phone app lets you switch both back on.

Vehicle generationOur read
Silverado 1500 & Sierra 1500 2007–2013Maker lists it
Silverado 1500 & Sierra 1500 2014–2018Maker lists it
Silverado 1500 & Sierra 1500 2019–2022.0Maker lists it
Silverado 1500 & Sierra 1500 2022.5–2026Maker lists it · varies by engine or year
Tahoe, Suburban & Yukon 2007–2014Maker lists it
Tahoe, Suburban & Yukon 2015–2020Maker lists it
Tahoe, Suburban & Yukon 2021–2024Maker lists it
Tahoe, Suburban & Yukon 2025–2026Not for this vehicle
Cadillac Escalade, ESV & EXT 2007–2014Maker lists it
Cadillac Escalade & Escalade ESV 2015–2020Maker lists it
Cadillac Escalade & Escalade ESV 2021–2026Maker lists it · varies by engine or year
Chevrolet Avalanche 2007–2013Maker lists it
Colorado & Canyon V8 2009–2012Maker lists it
Chevrolet Camaro SS 2010–2015Maker lists it
Chevrolet Camaro SS & ZL1 2016–2024Maker lists it
Chevrolet Corvette C7 2014–2019Maker lists it
Chevrolet Corvette C8 2020–2026Not for this vehicle
Impala SS, Monte Carlo SS, Grand Prix GXP & LaCrosse Super 2005–2009Maker lists it
Pontiac G8 GT & Chevrolet Caprice PPV 2008–2017Maker lists it
Trailblazer & Envoy 5.3L 2005–2009Maker lists it

"Maker lists it" = the manufacturer names the vehicle; "Listing claims it" = only the Amazon listing's generic claim; "Sources disagree" = conflicting claims or owner reports. Use the fit finder for your exact engine and year.

Specs that matter

Engine-off drawSleep mode claimed, no figure published
On/off switchNo: unplug it to turn it off
Auto start/stopAlso turned off
Where it plugs inOBD-II port under the dash
California (CARB)No Executive Order found: not legal in California
Spare OBD portNo: it occupies the OBD-II port
V6 4.3LClaimed
Warranty3 years (OBDLink)
CompanyOBDLink
Amazon rating4.2 out of 5 (396 ratings)
Sales400+ bought in the past month (Amazon badge, Oct 28, 2026)
PriceAbout $150 on Oct 28, 2026. Check Amazon for today's price.

What owners report

Our summary of recent owner reviews (we read the critical ones first). We don't test units ourselves.

Likes

  • One plug for classic and Global B vehicles, 10-speed included
  • Turns off auto start/stop too, and the app can restore factory behavior
  • Made by OBDLink, a known scan-tool maker, with a 3-year warranty

Complaints

  • On late-2022+ trucks, DFM is only fully off after a first run above about 40 mph
  • Several 2024+ owners say only start/stop was turned off
  • An ABS code and a failed emissions check reported by one owner
  • One owner lost about 4 mpg

Who it's for

Best suited to owners of GM trucks, SUVs and cars from 2005 to the listed 2024–2025 models, classic AFM, 10-speed and Global B alike.

Not for

  • Models after the years the maker lists (check 2025–2026 SUVs)
  • Corvette C8 and heavy-duty 2500/3500 trucks
  • California-registered vehicles

Limits & caveats

  • It reduces how often cylinders switch off. No study shows it prevents lifter failure. What fails and why
  • if the vehicle will sit a week or more, unplug it.
  • Expect 0 to 3 mpg less, mostly on the highway.
  • No CARB Executive Order: not legal on California-registered vehicles. OBD-based inspections elsewhere may also flag it.

Alternatives

2005–2020 · not 10-speed

BOOST AFM & DFM Disabler

4.6★ (1.2K ratings) · 1K+ bought last month

0.71 mA engine off No switch Start/stop stays

Our favorite classic disabler on paper: well rated, low stated draw, clear fitment list.

About $149
on Oct 28, 2026
Check on Amazon →
2007–2022.0 · not 10-speed

Max Cylinder AFM/DFM Disabler

4.6★ (682 ratings) · 900+ bought last month

Draw not stated No switch Kills start/stop

Worth a look if you want start/stop gone on a pre-2022 truck, but the reviews are mixed.

About $180
on Oct 28, 2026
Check on Amazon →
2022.5+ trucks · 2021+ SUVs

Range Technology RA007 DFM Disabler

4.4★ (364 ratings) · 1K+ bought last month

Draw not stated No switch Kills start/stop

The reference module for 2022.5+ trucks and 2021+ SUVs: the only one with a CARB exemption (2021–2024 models), and it also turns off auto start/stop.

About $233
on Oct 28, 2026
Check on Amazon →