All disablers › TOPDON

2007–2021 · 10-speed disputed

TOPDON AFM/DFM Disabler

Our take

A new listing from a known scan-tool brand that already sells 1K+ a month, with a claimed sleep mode.

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Which disabler we recommend never depends on it. How we make money

What it's sold for

Listing: GM V6 and V8 (4.3L, 5.3L, 6.0L, 6.2L) with AFM/DFM, with a fitment chart. Claims an automatic ultra-low-power sleep when the ignition is off. No 10-speed exclusion in the bullet points.

Vehicle generationOur read
Silverado 1500 & Sierra 1500 2007–2013Listing claims it
Silverado 1500 & Sierra 1500 2014–2018Listing claims it
Silverado 1500 & Sierra 1500 2019–2022.0Listing claims it · varies by engine or year
Silverado 1500 & Sierra 1500 2022.5–2026Not for this vehicle
Tahoe, Suburban & Yukon 2007–2014Listing claims it
Tahoe, Suburban & Yukon 2015–2020Listing claims it · varies by engine or year
Tahoe, Suburban & Yukon 2021–2024Not for this vehicle
Tahoe, Suburban & Yukon 2025–2026Not for this vehicle
Cadillac Escalade, ESV & EXT 2007–2014Listing claims it
Cadillac Escalade & Escalade ESV 2015–2020Listing claims it · varies by engine or year
Cadillac Escalade & Escalade ESV 2021–2026Not for this vehicle
Chevrolet Avalanche 2007–2013Listing claims it
Colorado & Canyon V8 2009–2012Listing claims it
Chevrolet Camaro SS 2010–2015Listing claims it
Chevrolet Camaro SS & ZL1 2016–2024Listing claims it · varies by engine or year
Chevrolet Corvette C7 2014–2019Listing claims it
Chevrolet Corvette C8 2020–2026Not for this vehicle
Impala SS, Monte Carlo SS, Grand Prix GXP & LaCrosse Super 2005–2009Listing claims it · varies by engine or year
Pontiac G8 GT & Chevrolet Caprice PPV 2008–2017Listing claims it
Trailblazer & Envoy 5.3L 2005–2009Listing claims it · varies by engine or year

"Maker lists it" = the manufacturer names the vehicle; "Listing claims it" = only the Amazon listing's generic claim; "Sources disagree" = conflicting claims or owner reports. Use the fit finder for your exact engine and year.

Specs that matter

Engine-off drawSleep mode claimed, no figure published
On/off switchNo: unplug it to turn it off
Auto start/stopNot affected (stays on)
Where it plugs inOBD-II port under the dash
California (CARB)No Executive Order found: not legal in California
Spare OBD portNo: it occupies the OBD-II port
V6 4.3LClaimed
Amazon rating4.2 out of 5 (59 ratings)
Sales1K+ bought in the past month (Amazon badge, Oct 28, 2026)
PriceAbout $66 on Oct 28, 2026. Check Amazon for today's price.

What owners report

We haven't analyzed enough owner reviews for this one yet. Across all plug-in disablers, the usual complaints are warning lights, a flat battery after days parked, harsher shifts on some trucks and a 0–3 mpg drop on the highway.

Who it's for

Best suited to owners of 2007–2021 GM trucks and SUVs with AFM, and pre-2022 DFM trucks with a 6- or 8-speed.

Not for

  • 2022.5–2026 trucks and 2021+ SUVs (Global B): it won't work
  • Corvette C8 and heavy-duty 2500/3500 trucks
  • California-registered vehicles

Limits & caveats

  • It reduces how often cylinders switch off. No study shows it prevents lifter failure. What fails and why
  • if the vehicle will sit a week or more, unplug it.
  • Expect 0 to 3 mpg less, mostly on the highway.
  • No CARB Executive Order: not legal on California-registered vehicles. OBD-based inspections elsewhere may also flag it.

Alternatives

2007–2021 · not 10-speed

ROPODE AFM/DFM Disabler

4.3★ (2.9K ratings) · 4K+ bought last month

Draw not stated No switch Start/stop stays

The volume pick. Fine for a pre-2019 truck if you accept clone-level quality control.

About $66
on Oct 28, 2026
Check on Amazon →
2007–2021 · 10-speed disputed

OBDCAR AFM/DFM Disabler

4.3★ (2.5K ratings) · 1K+ bought last month

Draw not stated No switch Start/stop stays

Popular, but its listing says the least about what it fits.

About $67
on Oct 28, 2026
Check on Amazon →
2022.5+ trucks · 2021+ SUVs

Range Technology RA007 DFM Disabler

4.4★ (364 ratings) · 1K+ bought last month

Draw not stated No switch Kills start/stop

The reference module for 2022.5+ trucks and 2021+ SUVs: the only one with a CARB exemption (2021–2024 models), and it also turns off auto start/stop.

About $233
on Oct 28, 2026
Check on Amazon →